NR Group

NR Open Championship 2018 enthralls Mysuru

Mysuru, December 17, 2018:NR Group, the agarbathi to aerospace conglomerate, announced the winners of NR Open Championship at JayachamarajaWodeyar Golf Club on December16, 2018.  Held over two days on December 15 and December 16, the championship was organized at JayachamarajaWodeyar Golf Club, Mysuru.

The event witnessed around 200 golf enthusiasts participating across 17 categories.  Mr. R Guru, Chairman, NR Group, Mr. Arjun Ranga, Mr. Pavan Ranga, Mr. Vishnu Ranga and Mr. Anirudh Ranga, Partner’s, NR Group presented the trophies to the winners. Mr. C. S. Ravishankar, President, JWGC, Mr. H D Thimmappa Gowda, Hon. Secretary, Dr. Venkatesh Joshi, Capitan, JWGC, Dr. S L Narayan, Hon. Treasurer, JWGC, Mr. B Ravindranath Reddy, Chairman, Tournament Sub-committee were also present for the occasion.

Announcing the winner’sMr. Arjun Ranga, Partner, NR Group, said, “Seeing NR Golf Championship growing bigger and better every year is our biggest achievement. The overwhelming participation will motivate us to continue with our aim of strengthening the game at all levels. We congratulate all the winners and thank the participants for making this a success.”

           Played on : 15-12-2018 & 16-12-2018
             Sponsored by : M/S N RANGA RAO & SONS MYSURU
No.of Players : 174
1 Strokeplay Gross Mr.K.A. Anil Kumar (73 Gross) Mr..B.S. Krishna (75 Gross)
2 Stablefrod Gross Mr.M.G. Chengappa (30 Gross) Ms. Vidhatri.K.Urs (29 Gross)
3 Strokeplay Net ( H/C 0 TO 12 ) Dr. Abraham Thomas (67 Net) Mr.Dhruv Bopanna (69 Net)
4 Strokeplay Net ( H/C 13 TO 18 ) Mr. Suresh Balaram (63 Net) Mr.M. Akhilesh Shenoy (64 Net)
5 Stableford Net ( H/C 0 TO 18 ) Mr.S.T. Buddhi Sagar (41 Points) Mr.K.M. Munigopal Raju (40 Points)
6 Stableford Net ( H/C 0 TO 24 ) Mr.M.M. Ganapathy (38 Points) Mr.K.M.VeerMohen (37 Points)
For Seniors Above 65 Years  & Above (Better Back 9 Over Mr.H.S. Gopinath
Dr. S. Prasanna Shankar)
7 Stableford Net (H/C 0 To 24) Col.M.C. Appanna (33 Points)
For Super Seniors 75 Years & Above
8 Stableford Net (H/C 0 To 24) Ms. Disha Kavery (37 Points) Mr.M.Chirayu (28 Points)
For Juniors
9 Stableford Net ( H/C 0 TO 24) Mrs. Gayathri Mohan (31 Points)
For Ladies
10 Longest Drive - 9th Hole Mr. Hussein Vagh (305 Yards)
11 Straightest Drive - 16th  Hole Mr.Dhurv Bopanna (2 Inches)
12 Nearest To The Pin - 2nd Hole Mr.Amith Kothari (15 Feet)
13 Maximum No. Of Birdies Mr.AmoghDaijad (4 Birdies)
Events: Winner Runner
1 Match Play Singles Gross Event Mr.M.G. Chengappa Ms.Vidhatri.K.Urs
2 Match Play Singles Net Event Mr.V. Prakash Mr.M.R. Mohan Kumar
3 Match Play Doubles Net Event Ms. Vidhatri.K.Urs&Ms.DishaKavery Mr.Deepak Kumar Jain &Mr.M. Akshilesh Shenoy
4 Match Play Singles Net Event For Seniors Mr.H.D. Thimmappa Gowda Mr.C.K.Subramani

On the occasion, Mr. C. S. Ravishankar, President, JWGCsaid that “We would like to extend our sincere gratitude to NR Group for extensively supporting the game of golf through sponsorship and by organizing national level tournaments.  NR Open Golf Championship is a platform for the enthusiast’s. In future we would like to see more and more people coming forward to participate in this sport.”

An open invite event, the tournament saw the participation of golfers from Mysuru, Bengaluru, Coorg, Chikamagalur, Ooty and Kodaikanal.

Over the years, NR Group has become one of the leading companies to associate with sports in the country. Their continuous participation in sporting activities has resulted in exciting cricket properties like Red Alert, Third Umpire branding and Milestone branding. Their Dedicated and continuous focus of

NR Group towards nurturing sporting talent has resulted in them being actively involved in the development of different sports like Golf and Tennis. They have been organizing golf tournaments of national repute at regular intervals in and around Mysuru, offering aspiring sporting enthusiasts, a platform to hone their skills as well as to witness and learn from established professionals.

 About NR Group

The Mysuru-based NR Group was founded by Shri N. Ranga Rao in 1948. A true visionary and philanthropist, Shri. Ranga Rao created the ubiquitous Cycle Pure Agarbathies which has today become the largest selling agarbathi stick brand in the world. From a home-grown enterprise, NR Group has evolved into a successfully run business conglomerate with established presence in India and abroad. The Group has diversified into various business categories like manufacturing of functional air care products (Lia brand of room fresheners and car-fresheners), wellness home fragrance products (IRIS) under Ripple Fragrances and floral extracts (NESSO). The Group is committed towards its social responsibilities and fulfils them through its charity arm ‘NR Foundation’. NR Group today is managed by the third generation of the Ranga family. For more information on NR Group, please visit

For Media Queries, please email us at
or contact Uma Bai 7022548894